Improvised Music from Japan / Discography 10 Jahre Bessere Farben

(Mikroton Recordings, MIKROTON CD 5/6) (Russia) (2-CD set)

Disc 1

  1. Alexandr Vatagin - coop (3:07)
    All music by Alexandr Vatagin

  2. Skylla - Pink Dwarf (3:43)
    Silvia Fässler: ppooll, electronics
    Billy Roisz: kluppe, turntable
    Recorded live at rhiz, Vienna, September 2009

  3. Christof Kurzmann - 180 Seconds over Latin America (2:59)
    1. Argentina (with Fernando Perales - guitar, kaoss, devices)
    2. Chile (with Toto Alvarez - guitar, devices)
    3. Brazil (with Gustavo H. Serpa - electronic devices, lloopp)
    Recorded in 2009

  4. Ernst Reitermaier - Rustenfeld (4:03)
    Drone produced with a clarinet and a loop pedal
    Recorded in Rustenfeld, September 2009

  5. Boris Hauf - Hanging Out In Between (4:01)
    Boris Hauf: soprano and tenor saxophones, bells

  6. Swedish Azz - Just Azz (2:11)
    Swedish Azz
    Mats Gustafsson: saxophones, live electronics
    Per-Åke Holmlander: tuba, cimbasso
    Kjell Nordeson: vibrraphone
    dieb13: turntables, electronics
    Eric Carlsson: drums
    Recorded live by Sigge Krantz at Fasching, Stockholm, October 27, 2008

  7. Uchihashi Kazuhisa and Burkhard Stangl - Good Things Come to Those Who Wait (1:54)
    Kazuhisa Uchihashi: e-guitar, electronics
    Burkhard Stangl: e-guitar
    Recorded by Dieter Kovacic at rhiz during the Festival 2008

  8. eRikm - Botelo de Klein (3:24)
    Source: fragmentary element of a live recording realized in 2009

  9. Gerald Roßbacher - Err [2009] (3:29)

  10. Toshimaru Nakamura - nimb#46 (4:00)
    Toshimaru Nakamura: no-input mixing board

  11. K&K - Assembling the Forgotten Gate to Hell at Ibiza Beach (Postmortem Happy End Remix) (4:42)
    Rrecorded and edited by Manuel Knapp and Peter Kutin at Garnison 7, Vienna, 2009

  12. Regolith - Moon Bombing (3:53)
    Recorded live at Tuewi, 2009

  13. Tonic Train - Trinity8 (3:10)
    Constructed by Sarah Washington
    Recorded and mixed by Knut Aufermann
    Sound source: modified hearing aids

  14. ctrl - Als Wir die Karotten Schälten, Vergaszen Wir den Haferbrei (2:31)
    Gloria Damijan: piano
    Meike Melinz: flute
    Gabi Teufner: flute
    Bernd Klug: double bass
    Bernhard Schoeberl: guitar
    Recorded live at Amann Studio Concert, November 25, 2006
    Originally released on the CD 25.11 (Creative Sources Recordings, CS 099 CD)

  15. Uchihashi Kazuhisa - 531 (3:31)
    Kazuhisa Uchihashi: guitar

  16. Schnee - Schneeflocke (1:53)
    Christof Kurzmann: ppooll, effects
    Burkhard Stangl: Spanish guitar

  17. Jan Machacek, Anat Stainberg, and Billy Roisz - No Story Song (3:27)
    Jan Machacek: lyrics, voice
    Anat Stainberg: voice
    Billy Roisz: kluppe
    Recorded and mixed by Martin Siewert
    Taken from the performance piece "You Delay," by Jan Machacek

  18. Susanna Gartmayer and Thomas Berghammer - Sehr Sehr (2:04)
    Thomas Berghammer: trumpet
    Susanna Gartmayer: bass clarinet
    Recorded at Garnison 7, 2009

  19. The Magic I.D. - Our Favourite Things (0:39)
    The Magic I.D.
    Margareth Hammerer: guitar, vocals
    Christof Kurzmann: vocals
    Kai Fagaschinski: clarinet (right)
    Michael Thieke: clarinet (left)

  20. Pendler - Oh No (2:23)
    Sabine Marte, Markus Marte, Oliver Stotz: electronics, organ, guitar, voice
    Arranged and mixed by Oliver Stotz
    Constructed of leftovers from the track "Oh Yes" from Pendler's first album, You Come to Me

  21. Bulbul and Boris Hauf - Guten Abend (4:37)

  22. Nitro Mahalia - Loss Noch Less (3:33)
    Nitro Mahalia
    xr025: drums, cymbals, percussion, editing
    tronstoner: electric bass guitar, synthesizers, editing
    e.Xe: organ, e-piano, synthesizers
    Performed, recorded, and engineered by Nitro Mahalia, August and September 2009

  23. Siewert/dieb13 - Watch Your Jellyfish (2:28)
    Martin Siewert: fade
    dieb13: out

  24. Jez Riley - Bath Oil Salt Glass (3:53)
    Sound sources: field recordings, surface vibrations, small objects
    Recorded in Estonia and Latvia, 2009

Disc 2

  1. David Schweighart - I Trash Your Fuck (1:29)
    Recorded and edited by David Schweighart

  2. Stefan Geissler - Sequenz 03 (2:56)
    Composed, produced, and performed by Stefan Geissler

  3. LSD - Orion (3:56)
    Daniel Lercher: electronics
    Bernhard Schöberl: prepared guitar
    Gloria Damijan: toy piano

  4. Nifty's - Hope Bungalow (5:00)
    Fabian Pollack: guitar
    Michael Bruckner: guitar
    Thomas Berghammer: trumpet
    Dominik Grünbühel: bass
    Mathias Koch: drums
    Originally released on the album Naftularasa (Cracked Anegg Records, 2009)

  5. Hose - Repentance (1:03)
    Masafumi Ezaki: trumpet
    Toshihiro Koike: trombone
    Taku Unami: guitar
    Tomoya Izumi: bass
    Reiji Hattori: percussion
    Guest - Yamagata
    Recorded live at Kid Ailack Art Hall, Tokyo, September 27, 2009

  6. Klinger/Lewis/Nagl/Novotny - Kahüttenklipper (2:17)
    : Thomas Klinger: voice
    Joanna Lewis: violin
    Max Hagl: clarinet, saxophone
    Josef Novotnyzither, electronics
    Taken from the radio play Austernbucht und Filibuster

  7. noid - Artina.hr_2008 / July 7th_11:17 pm to 11:22 pm (5:11)
    Sounds: Adriatic Sea, wind, seagulls, noid, distant beach disco, cello, probably some insects
    Recorded in Croatia, summer 2008

  8. Los Glissandinos - Pop (3:31)
    Los Glissandinos
    Kai Fagaschinski: clarinet, microphone
    Klaus Filip: sinewaves
    Recorded at ausland, Berlin, July 2007

  9. Matija Schellander - Dangerfield (4:28)
    Composed by Matija Schellander
    Sounds: double bass, street noise, speech

  10. Noiset - Noiset No. 1 (3:37)
    Klaus Filip: carbon dioxide, snow, boiling water, pick-ups, electronic devices, ppooll
    Burkhard Stangl: e-guitar

  11. b:f:n - Tschifra (5:16)
    Cordula Bösze: flute
    noid: cello
    Wolfgang Fuchs: turntables
    Recorded at Kleylehof Studios, summer 2009

  12. Frufru - Aqualung (3:58)
    Angélica Castelló: recorders, voice, electronics
    Maja Osojnik: recorders, electronics
    Recorded live at Musikprotokoll, Graz, 2008

  13. Taus - Ping Paung (3:56)
    Service/return: Tim Blechmann/Klaus Filip
    Recorded in October 2009
    No analog instruments

  14. Cilantro - Haphazardous (2:51)
    Angélica Castelló: recorder, electronics
    Billy Roisz: audible video devices
    Mixed by Cilantro from live recordings made at rhiz, Vienna; at the LMC Festival in London; and at the Musica Genera Festival, Sczeczin, September 2009

  15. Tronstoner - The Sprawl Atavism (3:57)
    Multiple layers of analog drones based on the first sentence of William Gibson's novel Neuromancer

  16. Clemens Hausch - Photobrom (4:40)

  17. Goh Lee Kwang - (Part 2, Downsampled) (2:55)
    Goh Lee Kwang: sounds, techs

  18. Ennoson - Time Compression 2.58 (2:55)
    Mixed and recorded with lloopp, 2009

  19. Angélica Castelló - San Antonio (3:31)
    Angélica Castelló: recorders, piano
    Constructed by Angélica Castelló, Vienna, 2009

  20. dieb13 - Entirely Unlike 2:20 / Duo Schamberg - Enter Preis (10:28)
    dieb13: turntables, records, klopfer
    "Entirely Unlike 2:20" recorded at Generator #17, Zurich, October 9, 2009
    "Enter Preis" performed, recorded, and engineered by Duo Schamberg (Romeo Bissutti and Günther Castanetti)

Produced by Kurt Liedwart
Compiled by Dieter Kovacic, Billy Roisz, and Martin Siewert
Mastered by Martin Siewert
Cover design by Kurt Liedwart
Handwritten lettering by Billy Roisz
Includes a 16-page booklet with English liner notes by Burkhard Stangl (translated by Friederike Kulcsar and Kimi Lum), track information, and color photos
Photos by Dieter Kovacic, David Murobi, and Barbara Wilding

Released in December 2009