Improvised Music from Japan / Discography


Pony Up!

(Lewis Recordings, LEWISCD003) (UK) (CD)

  1. Nanimonai (Nothing At All) (2:20)
  2. Cakes and Pies (2:50)
  3. Yellow Car (3:19)
  4. Kurashi (Life) (4:11)
  5. Taka (Falcon) (1:13)
  6. Spike Initiating Zone (2:22)
  7. Shimo-Kitazawa De (In Shimo-Kitazawa) (1:47)
  8. Feel So Good (5:39)
  9. Killing Kanako Part I (4:23)
  10. Killing Kanako Part II (3:53)
  11. Suicide (2:45)
  12. St. Charles (5:09)
  13. Cakes and Pies (live orchestral version) (4:40)
  14. (7:31)
Track 13 includes a performance of 2 minutes 40 seconds, and a two-minute silence.

All music and lyrics by Brett Larner except: lyrics on (5), by Kanoko Nishi; music and lyrics on (8), by Kember/Pierce; lyrics on (4, 9, 10), by Hiromi Ito

Chiaki: vocals
Kanoko: vocals
DJ Radial Axis wrote, played, engineered, and produced everything except:
Liz Allbee: trumpet (12)
Gene Baker: drums (10)
John Dieterich: lead guitar (6)
Fred Frith: bass (6)
Toshimaru Nakamura: no-input mixing board (5)
Kanoko Nishi: harpsichord (6)
Joel Pickard: pedal steel guitar (6)
Ringo Robair: drums (6)
Jonathan Segel: synthesizer (12)
Yon Visell: bass solo (6)

Mills College Contemporary Performance Ensemble (track 13)
Liz Allbee: trumpet
Gene Baker: cornet
Jen Baker: trombone
Sheela Bringi: flute
Alicia Byer: bassoon
Fred Frith: slide guitar
Eric Glick-Rieman: melodica
Maya Glovinsky: oboe
Heather Heise: accordion
Alex Hutchings: violin
Marc Jensen: accordion
Brett Larner: koto
Eric Myers: piano
Andy Nathan: bass
Sam Ospovat: drums
Barak Perelman: piano
Joel Pickard: wah-wah guitar
Joshua Sirotiak: tuba
Nhu-Thuy Tran: violin
Carolyn Tyler: cello
Heather Vorwerck: cello
Maren Woodruff: acoustic guitar
Fei Wu: gu zheng

Recorded at CCM Studios, Oakland, and Estudillo Estudio, San Leandro, U.S.A., December 2002-May 2003
Mixed at Prieto Multimedia Lab, Oakland, and Magnetic Satellite, Oakland, December 2002-June 2003
Additional recording at Wesleyan University, March 1993, and Magnetic Satellite, May 2003
Engineering assistance on (11) by Sarahhh Luchan
Mastered by Myles Boisen at Headless Buddha Mastering Lab, Oakland, July 2003

Released in 2004