Improvised Music from Japan / Discography

Satoko Fujii Orchestra

South Wind

(Libra Records, 215-104) (Japan) (CD)

  1. Jet Lag (10:33)
  2. No More (9:03)

    The Seasons
  3. #01: Indication ++Spring (10:37)
  4. #02: Silence ++Summer (6:33)
  5. #03: This Is about You ++Fall (4:15)
  6. #04: Freeze ++Winter (5:53)

  7. I Don't Know (8:42)
  8. South Wind (10:58)

Compositions by Satoko Fujii (1, 3-6, 8) and Natsuki Tamura (2, 7)

Satoko Fujii Orchestra
Oscar Noriega: alto saxophone, bass clarinet
Briggan Krauss: alto saxophone, clarinet
Tony Malaby: tenor and soprano saxophones
David Castiglione: tenor and soprano saxophones, bamboo flute
Andy Laster: baritone saxophone, clarinet
Herb Robertson: trumpet, cornet, soprano hunting horn
Steven Bernstein: trumpet
Dave Ballou: trumpet
Natsuki Tamura: trumpet
Joe Fiedler: trombone
Curtis Hasselbring: trombone
Joey Sellers: trombone
Satoko Fujii: piano
Yuko Yamaoka: piano (tracks 1 and 4)
Aaron Alexander: drums
Stomu Takeishi: bass

Recorded by Mike Marciano, Joe Marciano, and Nancy Marciano at Systems Two Studios, New York City, June 19, 1997
Remastered by Scott Hull at Hit Factory, April 15, 2004
Design and photos by Motonobu Furuhata

Released in July 2004
Originally released in 1997 as a CD with a different sleeve design on the British label Leo Lab Reocrds (LEO LAB CD 037)