Improvised Music from Japan / Discography

Masahiko Satoh Trio

Hyojun Gigaku

(BAJ Records, BJSP-0011) (Japan) (CD)

  1. Mon Beulk (6:24)
    Based on "Blue Monk," composed by Thelonious Monk

  2. Well I Need It (6:18)
    Based on "Well You Needn't," composed by Thelonious Monk

  3. Loeo (3:34)
    Based on "Oleo," composed by Sonny Rollins

  4. Whatever! (4:37)
    Based on "So What," composed by Miles Davis

  5. Interlude to a Kiss (4:25)
    Based on "Prelude to a Kiss," composed by Duke Ellington

  6. My Fave Rave (5:22)
    Based on "My Favorite Things," composed by Richard Rodgers

  7. Not Bad for Me (4:24)
    Based on "But Not for Me," composed by George Gershwin

  8. 'S One to Fool (3:13)
    Based on "'S Wonderful," composed by George Gershwin

  9. March 14th (4:55)
    Based on "My Funny Valentine," composed by Richard Rodgers

  10. It's All Night with Me (5:46)
    Based on "It's All Right with Me," composed by Cole Porter

  11. Ais Inut (4:10)
    Based on "A Night in Tunisia," composed by Dizzy Gillespie

  12. Ant Steps (3:03)
    Based on "Giant Steps," composed by John Coltrane

  13. Satanic Doll (5:29)
    Based on "Satin Doll," composed by Duke Ellington

  14. Pumpkin Man (6:15)
    Based on "Watermelon Man," composed by Herbie Hancock

All composed and arranged by Masahiko Satoh

Masahiko Satoh: piano
Shinichi Kato: bass
Hiroshi Murakami: drums

Recorded by Takashi Akaku at Onkio Haus Studio 1, February 24 and 25, 2016
Mixed by Takashi Akaku
Mastered by Wataru Ishii at Onkio Haus Mastering Room
Produced by Masahiko Satoh
Design by Makoto Wada
Includes a 12-page booklet with liner notes by Masahiko Satoh in Japanese and English (translation by Mike Molasky)

Released in June 2016